Liberty Lane and the One-Girl Rebelution ~ Sodbuster Review

When I began reading this book, I was a bit nervous. It is a Christian Middle Grade book, but it is centered around a music competition like America’s Got Talent.  But as the story unfolded I began to see this in a whole new light and I actually began to appreciate what author Shaylene King did with the biblical story… Read more »

Sodbuster Reviews- The Cryptographer’s Dilemma

      4 Comments on Sodbuster Reviews- The Cryptographer’s Dilemma

Perfect for fans of Sarah Sundin’s books. It was a particularly trying afternoon. We had canned so much spaghetti sauce from the abundant harvest of tomatoes. The knowledge that my husband goes back to seminary school in just a few short days weighed on my heart as I reflected on what life will look like again for us in the… Read more »

The Scarlet Pen, by Jennifer Uhlarik, Book Review

I have really been enjoying these True Color books penned by various authors, but all having one common thread, that they have taken an interesting crime and centered a story around the history. The Scarlet Pen is about a serial killer, a young woman engaged to the deceptive villain, and our hero who is looking for the person behind the… Read more »

Why This New Trend in Christian Fiction Has Me Cautious

It was my first book that I had read by Julie Klassen and she instantly became a favorite. I loved how she took a very difficult subject (pregnant out of wedlock during the Edwardian times) and showed what God has done for those that repent and turn to Him. She brought up some of the issues that I, as a… Read more »

Edge of My Seat Page Turner, Review on Blood Sisters by Jim O’Shea!

Whew! What an emotional roller coaster ride! This psychological thriller by Jim O’Shea, really engaged me once I got into the story. I admit that the first 50-100pages or so, I was ready to give up. It was hard to get into and the characters seemed younger than what they were suppose to be, and the overall writing just seemed… Read more »

Is This Book Perfect For Your Next Summer Read?

So sorry for the delay in my review, readers! “ I was stuck in a meeting which I couldn’t get out of, and the electricity went out of the building and we were trapped on the 38 floor. And the telephone system blew too, amazingly enough.” OK, for reals, I hope you got my little, ‘You’ve Got Mail’ humor there…. Read more »

A Book of Comfort and Instruction, and a Must Read for Our Culture Today

It is hard to separate your experiences from a book you’re reviewing, and yet, isn’t that what pulls us into a good book? Some can relate so well, and others will be educated in something that they have never conceived. Isn’t that the essence of a good book? When I first began reading Providence, I had wasn’t really sure how… Read more »

The Perfect Escape for a Book Worm || Hope Between the Pages Review

“In her beloved books, she knew the ending came with a happily-ever-after, for the most part. At least, in the books she loved best.” There is so many things about this book that I really enjoyed, but probably the biggest one is that there is so many references to many fantastic works of literature within these pages. Pepper Basham even… Read more »

A Clean YA Fantasy That Can be Enjoyed by Young and Old || Review

“Mom, I think I like fantasy,” and with those words, I set out on my own quest, like those found in this particular genre, to find clean fantasy books. One thing I have noticed of late, is the particular influx of darker theme within contemporary YA novels. Going through the shelves at the library or the book store reveals a… Read more »

The Secret is Out With This Latest Read, My Review on The Dressmaker’s Secret

The dressmaker’s secret is a sweet Christian novel about a girl in search for her father, and a woman running away from her Father. The book was slow going at first and page after page was filled with a lot of Christian talk. There were times when I felt like the author needed to give us back story and created… Read more »

Is This Middle Grade Series Just More Twaddle? Sodbuster Reviews

  Growing up I was all about the horse books, who wasn’t? I read the Saddle Horse Club, Winnie the Horse Gentler, and a host of others that I can’t even remember anymore. It seems every generation has it’s horse admirers and it seems only appropriate that there should be more books to be read for the next generation! Ginny… Read more »

After Reading this Book, did I Regret Moving to Indiana?

I actually requested this book mainly because I am a newly planted Hoosier. And this is a Christian suspense novel that takes place in LaPorte, Indiana, 1907. It has ALL the makings of a great book: something I can relate to (location), historical (sign me up!), suspense (can this book get any better?), and takes place on a farm (my… Read more »

Snuffed Out, A Cozy Mystery Book Review

      4 Comments on Snuffed Out, A Cozy Mystery Book Review

This book was even better than the first one I read last month! I am really falling in love with this character, Katrina. First, I love how fostering and adoption was weaved into the pages. It is not a main focus point of this cozy mystery but it does play a part in our character development.  Speaking of character development, one… Read more »