Category Archives: Reviews

Now That I Know You || Sodbuster Book Reviews

      2 Comments on Now That I Know You || Sodbuster Book Reviews

Does our past define us? One of the things I really enjoy about this series by Olivia Newport is the dual-timeline. I am finding that I really enjoy that perspective. What is unique to be about how Newport’s writing is the fact that I actually enjoy both timelines. More often than not, I find myself preferring the historical point of… Read more »

Elinor Dare’s story from the Lost Colony of Roanoke || Sodbuster Reviews

A few years ago, I created my own American history curriculum that would fit my diverse needs for a wide range of grades. We had an encyclopedia of historic events, and a stack of read alouds we were going to be reading through. One of the gaps that was sadly lacking was history on the lost colony of Roanoke. There… Read more »

Sodbuster Reviews || Eat God’s Food Book Review

      4 Comments on Sodbuster Reviews || Eat God’s Food Book Review

This book is written to encourage kids to eat more of the basic unprocessed foods, such as; fruit, veggies, grains, seeds, and little meat. It is an interactive book with activities to do, beautiful artwork, and lots of information about how these foods nourish your body. There are some basic recipes within the pages that are simple enough that children… Read more »

Armor of God by Allen Brokken- A Sodbuster Review

This is my first book read in this series, and it is the fourth book in the series. Because this is a complicated created world and very detailed and many characters, I really recommend reading them in order. The opening gives you a basic summary so you know where you are in this fourth installment, but there is much to… Read more »

Sodbusters Reviews || Lost in Darkness by Michelle Griep

A Book That is Giving Mary Shelley a Run for Her Money! One of the classics that I wanted to read this year was the infamous, Frankenstein by Mary Shelley. It was purely coincidence that I excitedly requested to be one of the reviewers of Michelle Griep’s Lost in Darkness that is inspired by Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, and quite frankly… Read more »

Murder at the Empire || Sodbuster reviews

      3 Comments on Murder at the Empire || Sodbuster reviews

The roaring 20’s is such an interesting timeline; I think the only book that comes to mind for that era is The Great Gatsby, which I absolutely dislike. So, I have been pleasantly surprised with these Ever After Mysteries. With Murder at the Empire, author Cathe Swanson brings in many of the large components of the time, such as prohibition,… Read more »

The Book to Read When You Need A Cup of Good Cheer || Review

My deepest apologies to those on the tour and was waiting for my review yesterday. We had a family emergency and I could never get the time to sit down and write this. But if you have been waiting for this review, its about to get even better. My daughter woke up crying from stomach pain and running a fever…. Read more »

Written in Ink Blog Tour and Review from Sodbuster Living

Wow! Sara Davison wrote a really thought provoking story! I really appreciate when Christian authors are not afraid to write about some of the tough subjects that go beyond whether this person is suppose to marry the other main character. In this book, some trigger topics will be addressed, such as abortion, suicidal thoughts, and violence.  I appreciated that this… Read more »

When the Pilot Falls || Review from Sodbuster Living

There is something nostalgic and just warms all the readers vibes in me when I get to read about  the early years of the 1900’s, and aeroplanes are one thing that has always intrigued me. To have a cozy mystery centered around this time period that includes a female pilot on a stunt airplane is even more fascinating.  While it… Read more »

Liberty Lane and the One-Girl Rebelution ~ Sodbuster Review

When I began reading this book, I was a bit nervous. It is a Christian Middle Grade book, but it is centered around a music competition like America’s Got Talent.  But as the story unfolded I began to see this in a whole new light and I actually began to appreciate what author Shaylene King did with the biblical story… Read more »

Sodbuster Reviews- The Cryptographer’s Dilemma

      4 Comments on Sodbuster Reviews- The Cryptographer’s Dilemma

Perfect for fans of Sarah Sundin’s books. It was a particularly trying afternoon. We had canned so much spaghetti sauce from the abundant harvest of tomatoes. The knowledge that my husband goes back to seminary school in just a few short days weighed on my heart as I reflected on what life will look like again for us in the… Read more »

The Scarlet Pen, by Jennifer Uhlarik, Book Review

I have really been enjoying these True Color books penned by various authors, but all having one common thread, that they have taken an interesting crime and centered a story around the history. The Scarlet Pen is about a serial killer, a young woman engaged to the deceptive villain, and our hero who is looking for the person behind the… Read more »

Edge of My Seat Page Turner, Review on Blood Sisters by Jim O’Shea!

Whew! What an emotional roller coaster ride! This psychological thriller by Jim O’Shea, really engaged me once I got into the story. I admit that the first 50-100pages or so, I was ready to give up. It was hard to get into and the characters seemed younger than what they were suppose to be, and the overall writing just seemed… Read more »